Leona Aglukkaq, PC, MP (born June 28, 1967) is a Canadian politician, who was elected to the Canadian House of Commons as a Conservative in the 2008 Canadian federal election for the riding of Nunavut. Aglukkaq was named the Minister of Health on October 30, 2008, and is the first Inuk in Canadian history to be appointed to the Cabinet of Canada. Jack Anawak and Nancy Karetak-Lindell previously held parliamentary secretary positions, which are not part of the cabinet itself.

Aglukkaq was born in Inuvik, Northwest Territories and raised in Thom Bay, Taloyoak and Gjoa Haven. She is married to Robbie MacNeil and has a son, Cooper. Prior to running as an MP she was an MLA in the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, representing the electoral district of Nattilik. First elected in the 2004 Nunavut election, she held the seat until stepping down on September 10, 2008 to run in the federal election. She was the Minister of Health and Social Services and the Minister Responsible for the Status of Women in the Executive Council of Nunavut. Before becoming an MLA, Aglukkaq was a long time employee of the Government of Nunavut and served on the Hamlet Council of Cambridge Bay. Minister of Health Aglukkaq, along with two other newly elected women MPs with little experience in federal politics, were appointed to cabinet by Prime Minister Stephen Harper. This was seen by some as a move to put a more feminine image on the cabinet. As the MP for Nunavut, some also felt that Aglukkaq's presence at the cabinet table would improve the health care standards in Northern Canada.

Leona Aglukkaq minister of health in Canada

David Dingwall July 12, 1996 - June 10, 1997
Allan Rock June 11, 1997 - January 14, 2002
Anne McLellan January 15, 2002 - December 11, 2003
Pierre Pettigrew December 12, 2003 - July 19, 2004
Ujjal Dosanjh July 20, 2004 - February 5, 2006
Tony Clement February 6, 2006 - October 29, 2008
Leona Aglukkaq October 30, 2008 - Present

The Minister of Health (French: Ministre de la Sante) is the Minister of the Crown in the Canadian Cabinet who is responsible for overseeing the federal government's health department (Health Canada) and the enforcing the Public Health Agency of Canada, Canada Health Act, the law governing Medicare. The current Minister of Health is Leona Aglukkaq, MP for Nunavut. The Minister of Health is also the responsible Minister for the:

  • Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research
  • Hazardous Materials Information Review Commission
  • National Advisory Council on Aging (shared with the Secretary of State [Seniors]).
  • Patented Medicine Prices Review Board

Honourable Kevin Falcon

Kevin Falcon was appointed Minister of Health Services on June 10, 2009.

MLA Falcon was first elected in 2001 to represent the riding of Surrey-Cloverdale, and was re-elected in 2005 and 2009. He was previously appointed Minister of Transportation on January 26, 2004 and initially served as Minister of State for De-regulation.

He previously served as Minister of Transportation since January 26, 2004, overseeing a capital program that included the Kicking Horse Canyon, the Sea-to-Sky Highway and the William R. Bennett Bridge, among many others.

Minister Falcon's leadership earned him recognition in Vancouver Magazine's annual ranking of the city's 50 most influential leaders in 2008.

Before his election to the Legislative Assembly in 2001, he was president of Access Group, a corporate communications firm he founded in 1998. He has also worked in the real estate development industry and was vice-president of Northwest Investment Properties. He received his bachelor of arts degree from Simon Fraser University, and his real estate education at the University of British Columbia. http://www.gov.bc.ca/health/minister.html


: 14 2010
Copyright marianna-ivanova 2006 - 2013. marianna-ivanova.ru